“has been rebuilt a few times”
In 1850, Jacob Berry and Peter Paddleford built a covered bridge to replace a crudely framed log bridge that had collapsed at this site. The 1850 bridge stood until the Swift River covered bridge crashed into it in 1869. The Saco River covered bridge was rebuilt by Allen and Warren of Conway but it was destroyed again by a tannery fire in 1890. The current bridge was built by Charles Broughton and his son Frank.
Be the first to add a review to the Saco River Bridge.
Saco River Bridge
- Sun - Sat: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.