“circa the 1860s”
The Parowan Meetinghouse, sometimes referred to as the Parowan Tabernacle or the Parowan Old Rock Church is a historic meetinghouse of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church) built in Parowan, Utah between 1861-1870. It was designed by architect/builders Ebenezer Hanks, Edward Dalton and William A. Warren, all members of the local community. The basement was completed by 1867 when it began to hold meetings. The first meeting held in the relatively large chapel, which seated 800, occurred when LDS Church leader Brigham Young visited in April 1870. The building has two separate staircases with entrances, originally one for males and one for females. The building was abandoned by the church after 1914 when the new adjacent Prairie School styled Parowan 3rd Ward Meetinghouse was built on the same lot. Somewhere around 1920, ownership was taken over by the city, who turned over the building to the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers who retain caretaker status. The building now serves as the Parowan Old Rock Church Museum that hosts daily tours between Memorial Day and Labor Day. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
Be the first to add a review to the Parowan Old Rock Church Museum.
Parowan Old Rock Church Museum
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.